Last month, we blogged about architectural great and Connecticut native, Ehrick Rossiter.
Since S. B. Long Interiors is such a huge fan of his architecture and there’s just so much we want to say about Rossiter, it would only be right to do a part two!
But this time, let’s explore Rossiter’s use of New England stones and rocks in his architecture.
Rossiter’s own home, “The Rocks,” was a large rectangular house, built with a cone shaped tower and shingled siding. A few of Rossiter’s most notable Washington houses, ”The Rocks,” “The Knoll,” and “The Sumacs,” were all rustically stylish country homes known as cottages.
St. John’s Episcopal Church, was built in the Gothic Revival style using heavy stone walls. It’s built with a pronounced buttresses (structure built against a wall for reinforcement), pointed-arched openings, and square tower at one side.
The Gunn Memorial Library is built in the Colonial Revival style, with rustic influence in the cobblestone building material for the walls. The interior of the library is fully finished in well-designed and well-maintained, Colonial Revival millwork.
The Boulders Inn consists of Dutch Colonial Mansion, the Carriage House and the Hillside Cottages, all built from local stone, and first constructed in 1890.
If reading about Rossiter on our blog has sparked your interest for more of his architectural genius, we highly recommend purchasing his books, Rossiter: Country Houses of Washington Connecticut and/or Return to Arcadia: Ehrick Rossiter’s Washington: The Architect. His Clients and Their Houses from Gunn Memorial Library & Museum.